Aapada Mitra Programme

Aapada Mitra Programme

  • Recently, the government has announced plans to have Disaster Management Volunteers (Aapda Mitras) in 350 districts of the country also released documents for Common Alerting Protocol (CAP)
  • CAP is a simple but general format for exchanging all-hazard emergency alerts and public warnings over all kinds of networks.


  • It is a Central Sector Scheme that was launched in May 2016. NDMA (National Disaster Management Authority) is the implementing agency.
  • It is a programme to identify suitable individuals in disaster-prone regions who can be trained to be first responders in times of disasters.


  • To provide the community volunteers with the skills that they would need to respond to their community’s immediate needs in the aftermath of a disaster thereby enabling them to undertake basic relief and rescue tasks during emergency situations such as floods, flash-floods and urban flooding.


  • Training institutions to be empanelled by respective States/UTs at the State/UT level.
  • To train community volunteers in life saving skills of disaster response (flood relief and rescue), coordination, assistance, and provide personal protective equipment and emergency responder kits;
  • To create a Community Emergency Stockpile/Reserve at the district/block level containing essential light search and rescue equipment, medical first aid kits, etc.
  • To disseminate training and education tools developed under the project to more flood prone districts in subsequent phases of the scheme.

Other Disaster Related Initiatives

  • National Disaster Response Fund.
  • Disaster Management Act, 2005.
  • Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI)


  • Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030.
  • United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR).

National Disaster Management Authority

  • NDMA is the apex statutory body for disaster management in India. It is headed by the Prime Minister of India.
  • It was formally constituted on 27thSeptember 2006, in accordance with the Disaster Management Act 2005.
  • Its primary purpose is to coordinate response to natural or man-made disasters and for capacity-building in disaster resiliency and crisis response.
  • It envisages to build a safer and disaster resilient India by a holistic, proactive, technology driven and sustainable development strategy that involves all stakeholders and fosters a culture of prevention, preparedness and mitigation.
No Comments

Post A Comment