Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura Foundation Day

Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura Foundation Day


  • On the foundation day of Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura (January 21), the traditions and culture of the three northeastern states were praised by the Prime Minister and other leaders.
  • On January 21, 1972, under the North Eastern Region (Reorganization) Act, 1971, all the three states were given full statehood.

Merger of Manipur with India:

  • Before August 15, 1947, through peaceful negotiations, almost all such states, whose borders with the Indian Union, were united for merger.
  • The rulers of most of the states signed a document called ‘Instrument of Accession’, which meant that their state agreed to be a part of the Union of India.
  • Shortly before independence, Maharaja Bodhchandra Singh of Manipur had signed the Instrument of Accession to maintain the internal autonomy of Manipur.
  • Under pressure from public opinion, the Maharaja held elections in Manipur in June 1948 and the state became a constitutional monarchy. Thus Manipur was the first part of India to hold elections.
  • There were huge differences in the Legislative Assembly of Manipur regarding the merger with India. The Government of India had succeeded in getting a Instrument of Accession signed in September 1949 without consulting the Legislative Assembly of Manipur.

Merger of Tripura with India:

  • Tripura was a princely state until its merger with the Indian Union on November 15, 1949.
  • Maharani Kanchanprabha (wife of Maharaja Bir Bikram) assumed the representation of Tripura state after the death of Bir Bikram Singh, the last Maharaja of Tripura, on May 17, 1947.
  • He played a supporting role in the merger of Tripura State with the Indian Union.

Meghalaya merged with India:

  • In the year 1947, the rulers of Garo and Khasi region entered the Indian Union.
  • Meghalaya, a small mountainous state located in the north-eastern region of India, came into existence as an autonomous state within the state of Assam on April 2, 1970.

Major changes in the year 1972:

  • In the year 1972, there was a major change in the political map of Northeast India.
  • In this way two union territories of Manipur and Tripura and sub-state Meghalaya got statehood.

Download yojna ias daily current affairs 24 january 2022

No Comments

Post A Comment