Nine State are celebrating Foundation Day on November 1, 2021.

Nine State are celebrating Foundation Day on November 1, 2021.


  • In India, seven states namely, Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Karnataka, Punjab & Madhya Pradesh and two union territories Lakshadweep & Puducherry are celebrating Foundation Day on November 1, 2021.

Highlights of Celebrating Foundation Day

  • Earlier, Tamil Nadu also used to celebrate its foundation day on November 1.
  • On October 30, 2021, ruling DMK in Tamil Nadu announced that, Tamil Nadu Formation Day will be celebrated on July 18 onwards.
  • In Karnataka, this day is celebrated as “Rajyotsav”.


  • The state of Kerala was formed on November 1, 1956. Before its formation, it was divided into three independent provinces that is, Malabar, Travancore and Cochin. Name of the state was derived from the first ruler Keralian Thamboran.


  • On November 1, 2000, Chattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh.
  • It is the 10th largest state of India. Separate state was made for easy administration and to reduce naxalism in this region.


  • Haryana was carved out from Punjab on November 1, 1966. This decision turned out to be boon for country as the state led the Green Revolution movement with respect to crop output.


  • Formation of Punjabi-majority Punjab State, Haryanvi-Hindi majority Haryana state and Union Territory of Chandigarh was the result of movement led by the Akali Dal.
  • Formation of Punjab dates back to Punjabi Suba movement in the 1950s.

Madhya Pradesh

  • Madhya Pradesh was formed on November 1, 1956. It is the second largest state in India with respect to area.

Andhra Pradesh

  • Andhra Pradesh was created on November 1, 1956.

yojna ias daily current affairs 01 nov 2021

No Comments

Post A Comment