Ramanujan Award

Ramanujan Award

  • Professor Neena Gupta has been awarded the Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians of Developing Countries.
  • He is a mathematician at the Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata and has been awarded for his outstanding work in ‘Affine Algebraic Geometry’ and ‘Commutative Algebra’.
  • She is the third woman to receive the Ramanujan Award.
  • Prior to this, he was awarded the Indian National Science Academy’s Young Scientist Award for the year 2014 for solving the ‘Zariski cancellation’ problem, a fundamental problem in algebraic geometry.

Ramanujan Award- Today Current Affairs

  • Ramanujan Prize is awarded annually since 2005 to young mathematicians from developing countries.
  • The award is given jointly by the ‘Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics’ (ICTP) along with the ‘Department of Science and Technology’ (DST) of the Government of India and the International Mathematical Union (IMU).
  • International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP): Founded in the year 1964 by Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam, it seeks to fulfill its mandate by providing continuing education and skills to scientists from developing countries.
  • International Mathematical Union (IMU): It is an international non-governmental and not-for-profit scientific organization that aims to promote international cooperation in mathematics.
  • It is a member of the International Science Council (ISC).
  • Department of Science and Technology: It has agreed to fund this award from the year 2014.
  • It is endorsed by the DST in memory of the mathematical genius SrinivasaRamanujan who made outstanding contributions to ellipsoidal functions, continuous functions, infinite series and analytic theory of numbers.

Eligibility and Awards:

  • This award is given every year on 31st December to a researcher from a developing country who is below 45 years of age by the year of award and who has done outstanding research in a developing country.
  • Researchers working in any branch of mathematical sciences are eligible.
  • It carries a cash prize of USD 15,000.

Srinivasa Ramanujan- The Hindu Analysis



  • Ramanujan was born on December 22, 1887 in the village of Erode (400 km from Chennai, then known as Madras).
  • In 1913 he began correspondence with the British mathematician Godfrey H. Hardy, after which he went to Trinity College, Cambridge.
  • Ramanujan made substantial contributions to the analytical theory of numbers and also worked on Elliptic Functions.
  • He also worked on the division of whole numbers, the Hypergeometric Series, and the Euler’s Constant.
  • His papers were published in English and European journals and in 1918 he was elected to the Royal Society of London.
  • After his return to India, he died on 26 April 1920 at the age of 32 due to prolonged illness.
  • Every year in India, the birth anniversary (22 December) of the great mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan is celebrated as National Mathematics Day.

Here we mention all informaton about Srinivasa Ramanujan and Ramanujan Award. Today Current Affairs.

Download yojna ias daily current affairs 13 December 2021

No Comments

Post A Comment