Sahitya Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi Award


Sahitya Akademi Award- Today Current Affairs

  • Recently Sahitya Akademi announced Sahitya Akademi Awards 2021 in 20 languages. Sahitya Akademi has also announced Yuva Puraskar and Bal Sahitya Puraskar for the year 2021.


  • The Sahitya Akademi Award, instituted in the year 1954, is a literary honour. The award is presented annually by the Sahitya Akademi (National Academy of Letters).
  • Awards are given every year by the Academy for literary works in 24 languages ​​recognized by it, as well as for mutual literary translation in these languages.
  • Apart from the 22 languages ​​included in the Constitution of India, the Sahitya Akademi has also recognized English and Rajasthani as the languages ​​in which the program of the Academy can be implemented.
  • The Sahitya Akademi Award is the second highest literary honor conferred by the Government of India after the Jnanpith Award.

Criteria for selection of award winners: The Hindu Analysis

  • The author must have an Indian nationality.
  • The book / composition eligible for the award should have outstanding contribution in the field of language and literature.
  • When the same merit is found for two or more books, then certain criteria such as total contribution in the field of literature and position/reputation of the authors etc. are taken into consideration for the announcement of the award.

Other Sahitya Akademi Awards: The Hindu Analysis

  • The Sahitya Akademi BAL Sahitya Puraskar is given by authors on the basis of their contribution to children’s literature and relates to books published for the first time during the five years immediately preceding the award year.
  • Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar deals with books published by an author who is 35 years of age and below.

Jnanpith Award: The Hindu Analysis

  • The Jnanpith Award is the highest literary award in India and can be awarded annually to only one Indian citizen.
  • This award is given in English along with other languages ​​mentioned in the Constitution of India (8th Schedule).
  • The award carries a cash amount of Rs 11 lakh, a citation and a bronze replica of Vagdevi (Saraswati), the goddess of knowledge.
  • This cultural organization is sponsored by Bharatiya Jnanpith.
  • In the year 2018, writer Amitav Ghosh became the first English language writer to become the Jnanpith Award winner.
  • Akkitham Achuthan Namboodiri of Malayalam language was awarded the Jnanpith Award in the year 2019.

Here we mention all information about Sahitya Akademi Award- Today Current Affairs.

yojna ias daily current affairs 1 January 2022

No Comments

Post A Comment