Statue of Oneness 

Statue of Oneness 

This article covers “Daily Current Affairs” and the topic details “Statue of Oneness”. This topic has relevance in the “Art and Culture” section of the UPSC CSE exam.

For Prelims:

What is Statue of Oneness?
Adi Guru Shankaracharya and his works?
Advaita Vedanta Philosophy

For Mains:

GS1:  Art and Culture

Why in the news?

Recently, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan revealed a monumental statue of Adi Guru Shankaracharya on the Mandhata Island in the Khandwa district. 


About the Statue of Oneness

  • This colossal statue, named the “Ekatmata ki Murti” (Statue of Oneness), stands at 108 feet.
  • It magnificently depicts the 8th-century Indian philosopher and theologian who played a pivotal role in consolidating the doctrine of Advaita Vedanta.
  • This unveiling ceremony marks a significant milestone within the ambitious “Ekatma Dham” project, spearheaded by the State government. 
  • This ceremony represents the commencement of its inaugural phase. The government envisions the development of this site along the lines of the renowned Mahakal Trek corridor, aiming to establish it as a prominent and revered destination.

Adi Shankaracharya: The Advaita Vedanta Philosopher

  • Adi Shankaracharya was an Indian philosopher and theologian who expounded the doctrine of Advaita Vedanta.
  • He renounced worldly pleasures at a young age and advocated the unification of the soul with the Supreme Soul.
  • Shankaracharya’s important work was the synthesis of the six sub-sects, known as ‘Shanmata’, which worships six supreme deities. He explained the existence of one Supreme Being (Brahman) and founded ‘Dashanami Sampradaya‘, emphasizing a monastic life.
  • Shankaracharya traveled and debated with philosophers, fine-tuning his teachings of ‘Advaita Vedanta’ and ‘Dashanami Sampradaya’.


The Four Disciples

  • Shankaracharya’s four main disciples were Padmapada, Totakacharya, Hasta Malaka, and Sureshvara.
  • They founded monasteries (mathas) and carried forward his teachings in Thrissur, Kerala.


Advaita Vedanta

  • Advaita Vedanta is a school of Hindu philosophy known for its radical nondualism. This means that Advaitins believe there is only one ultimate reality, Brahman, and everything else is an illusion.
  • The Upanishads are ancient Hindu scriptures considered the foundation of Advaita Vedanta. The Upanishads teach that Brahman is the ultimate reality and that the atman (individual self) is identical to Brahman.
  • Advaitins believe that the atman is pure non-intentional consciousness. Any thoughts, emotions, or physical sensations do not limit it. It is simply awareness.
  • The fundamental thrust of Advaita Vedanta is to help people realise their true identity as Brahman. This is done through various practices, such as meditation and inquiry.



  • Renowned commentary on the ‘Brahma Sutra’.
  • The oldest surviving commentary on the ‘Brahma Sutra’ 
Commentaries on Bhagavad Gita
  • Commentaries on the Bhagavad Gita, an essential Hindu scripture.
Commentaries on Ten Principal Upanishads
  • Commentaries on the ten principal Upanishads, pivotal texts in Vedanta philosophy
  • Philosophical work known as ‘a thousand teachings’.
  • Holds great importance in his body of work.



  • Adi Shankaracharya established four mathas at the four cardinal points in India. 
Monastery (Matha) Location Basis of Formation
Sringeri Sharada Peetham Sringeri, Karnataka Yajur Veda
Dvaraka Pitha Dwarka, Gujarat  Sama Veda
Jyotirmatha Peetham Garhwal, Uttarakhand Atharva Veda
Govardhana Matha Puri, Odisha Rig Veda


Sources: CM Chouhan unveils 108-ft tall Adi Shankaracharya statue in MP’s Omkareshwar

Download Yojna daily current affairs eng med 23rd Sep 2023


Q1. With reference to Statue of Oneness, consider the following statements: 

  1. It is a monumental statue of Adi Guru Shankaracharya in recently unveiled in Uttarakhand. 
  2. Advaita Vedanta is a school of Hindu philosophy known for its radical dualism. 
  3. Shankaracharya’s significant contribution involved synthesizing the six sub-sects into what is known as ‘Shanmata.’

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

(a) 1 and 2 only

(b) 2 and 3 only

(c) 3 only 

(d) None 

Answer: (c) 


Q2. Consider the following:¸


Monastery (Matha) Location
1. Sringeri Sharada Peetham Karnataka
2. Dvaraka Pitha Gujarat 
3. Jyotirmatha Peetham Odisha 
4. Govardhana Matha Uttarakhand


How many of the abovementioned pairs are correct?

(a) Only one 

(b) Only two 

(c) Only three 

(d) All Four 

Answer: (b)


Q3. Discuss the central tenets of Advaita Vedanta as propounded by Adi Shankaracharya and their philosophical implications. 

No Comments

Post A Comment